Orthopaedic Research Awards

Kappa Delta's partnership with the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) evolved out of its work with Children's Hospital of Richmond at VCU. After getting to know children with crippling diseases, Kappa Deltas wanted to make a difference not only in treatment, but in prevention.

In 1947, the sorority established the Kappa Delta Research Fellowship in Orthopedy (now known as the Kappa Delta Orthopaedic Research Awards). Starting with a $1,000 contribution in 1950, Kappa Delta now presents three $20,000 awards annually to leading orthopaedic researchers, over $1.9 million since the partnership began.

Often referred to as the Nobel Prize of orthopaedic research, the Kappa Delta Orthopaedic Research Awards have gone to researchers who have made key discoveries pertaining to bone grafting, treatment of polio, surgical correction of scoliosis, knee replacement, prevention and treatment of osteoporosis, arthroscopic surgery--in short, most of the leading orthopaedic advancements of the past 65 years.

Kappa Delta Sorority is proud to recognize these men and women for their outstanding achievements in orthopaedic research with the 2015 Kappa Delta Orthopaedic Research Awards.

2015 Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award: Robert L. Mauck, Ph.D.
Engineering Dense Connective Tissues: Mechanical, Material, and Mechanobiologic Considerations

Co-Authors: Dawn M. Elliott, Ph.D. and Jason A. Burdick, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania

2015 Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughn Award: Steven A. Olson, M.D.
Early Inhibition of Proinflammatory Cytokines Prevents Post-Traumatic Arthritis: Insights from the Natural History of Arthritis Developing after Intra-Articular Fracture
Co-Authors: Farshid Guilak, Ph.D., Virginia Kraus, M.D., Ph.D., Bridgette Furman, B.S., and Janet Huebner, M.S.
Duke University

2015 Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award: William D. Bugbee, M.D.
Osteochondral Allograft Transplantation in Cartilage Repair: Graft Storage Paradigm, Translational Models, and Clinical Applications
Co-Authors: Andrea L. Pallante-Kichura, Ph.D., Simon Görtz, M.D., Robert Sah, M.D., Sc.D., and David Amiel, Ph.D.
Scripps Clinic

Congratulations to all the 2015 Kappa Delta Award winners!

Latest News